The Indubitable Dweeb
RSS feed iconSubscribe to the RSS Feed

Twitter Me This

» Posts in News and Events

February 17, 2015

Come to the Official Book Launch of THE WHISPER: Tuesday, March 17th at McNally Jackson Books

0714AR2Let’s take a moment to shed a tear for the Book Twos in trilogies. Not the beginning, not the ending; no one ever throws parties for them.

Until now!

We will be celebrating the release of The Whisper, Book Two in the Riverman Trilogy. And you can join us! Here are the details:

Tuesday, March 17, 2015
McNally Jackson Books
52 Prince Street
(between Lafayette & Mulberry)
New York City, NY 10012

Feel free to RSVP via Facebook. Or just show up!

If you can’t make it, but are still interested in ordering a signed, personalized copy, then you can do that right here. And if you are my nemesis, remember this: the more you order, the more my hand will cramp up.

February 4, 2015

Upcoming Appearances (March & April, 2015)

Updated often, so check back from time-to-time why don’t you?

  • Tuesday, March 17, 2015:  The Whisper Launch Party! at McNally Jackson (New York, NY) at 7pm. Celebrate the official launch of The Whisper. Open to the public, but if you can’t attend, you can order a personalized copy of the book here.
  • Friday, March 20, 2015: NYC Teen Author Festival (New York, NY)  at 42nd Street New York Public Library at 2pm. “Crafting Something Out of Nothing” panel with Selene Castrovilla, Sarah Cross, Amalie Howard, Claire Legrand, Mary McCoy, and Jennifer A. Nielsen. More panels with more amazing authors to follow.
  • Sunday, March 22, 2015: NYC Teen Author Festival, Mega-Signing at Books of Wonder (New York, NY), at 3:30pm. With myriad and sundry young adult book royalty. Officially signings begin at 1pm, but I will be appearing at 3:30pm.
  • Wednesday, April 1, 2015: Teen Author Reading Night at Jefferson Market Library (New York, NY) at 6pm. With Elizabeth Eulberg, Kathryn Holmes, Elisa Ludwig, Kass Morgan, Danielle Paige, Shani Petroff, Darci Manley, Marie Rutkoski, Kieran Scott, and Nova Ren Suma
  • Saturday, April 25, 2015: YA Fest Junior at Bethlehem Public Library (Bethlehem, PA) from noon-3pm. With a variety of middle grade authors.
October 8, 2014

Upcoming Appearances (October & November, 2014)

Updated often, so check back from time-to-time why don’t you?

  • AaronStarmerAuthorPhotoSunday, October 19, 2014: Book Court  (Brooklyn, NY) at 2pm, Skullduggery with Alex Dawson, Mikki Knudsen, Clay McLeod Chapman and Kate Milford
  • Saturday, October 25, 2014: McNally Jackson (New York, NY) at 6pm, with Jonathan Auxier, Kate Milford and Laurel Snyder
  • Monday, November 10, 2014: The Browning School (New York, NY)  at 11am
  • Saturday, November 15, 2014: Rochester Children’s Book Festival (Rochester, NY), all day (presenting at 12:30pm in the Brighton Room) with middle grade and picture book authors galore
  • Sunday, November 23, 2014: Metuchen Library (Metuchen, NJ) at 2pm, with Alex Dawson, Claire Legrand and Clay McLeod Chapman
April 1, 2014

Upcoming Appearances (March to May, 2014)

Updated often, so check back from time-to-time why don’t you?

  • AaronStarmerAuthorPhotoSaturday, March 22, 2014: Books of Wonder (New York, NY) from 1-3PM, with Laura Marx Fitzgerald and Rebecca Behrens
  • Sunday, March 23, 2014: Oblong Books (Rhinebeck, NY) at 4PM, with Kari Sutherland
  • Thursday, April 17, 2014: Foxborough Regional Charter School (Foxborough, MA) from 5:30pm-8pm
  • Saturday, April 19, 2014: Easton YA Festival (Easton, PA) from 10:30am-3pm, with Josh Berk, Michael Northrop and a metric ton of YA authors
  • Thursday, May 1, 2014: The All Ages Show, Rutgers University YA Conference (New Brunswick, NJ) from 10am-1pm, with Lev Grossman, Claire Legrand, Catherynne Valente and Clay McLeod Chapman
  • Saturday, May 3, 2014: SCBWI New England Conference (Springfield, MA), with Laurel Snyder and Kate Milford
  • Wednesday, May 7, 2014: Teen Author Reading Night (New York, NY) from 6-7:30pm at Jefferson Market Branch of NYPL (corner of 6th Ave and 10th St) with Corey Haydu, Barry Lyga, Andy Marino, Kieran Scott and Yvonne Vintresca
  • Wednesday, May 14, 2014: WORD Bookstore (Jersey City, NJ) from 7:30pm-8:30pm with Jorge Aguirre and Michelle Knudsen
  • Saturday, May 17, 2014: Rochester Teen Book Festival (Rochester, NY) from 9am-5pm, with Jonathan Auxier and assorted YA royalty
  • Tuesday, May 27, 2014: McNally Jackson (New York, NY) at 7pm, with Tony Abbott, Christopher Healy and J.A. White.
  • Saturday, May 31, 2014: Jefferson Market Library (New York, NY) from 5pm-8pm for the Kids Author Carnival, with dozens of other middle grade authors
March 15, 2014

Reviews and Accolades for The Riverman

riverman_reading_img

The Riverman arrives in just a few days but a few people have already read it. They’ve got some things to say, so hear them out, okay?

PRESS REVIEWS

  • Wall Street Journal:  “…an ominous awareness of loss flows all the way through Aaron Starmer’s riveting and sophisticated novel for younger adolescents…There is plenty of surprise, though, and it resides in almost everything else that happens in this emotionally complex tale…The story of what follows…unfolds with disarming naturalness, yet every page feels so carefully written that, although we can’t predict what will take place, we feel certain that the author knows exactly where he is taking us.”

TRADE REVIEWS

  • Kirkus Reviews (starred review): “Lines between reality and fantasy blur in this powerful, disquieting tale of lost children, twisted friendship and the power of storytelling.”
  • Booklist: “In this dark, twisting tale, readers are never sure if Fiona’s story is true or not, and they won’t want to stop reading until they find out…this magical tale is sure to please readers of urban fantasy, and with its theme of missing children and changing friendships, it will be perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Charles de Lint, too.”
  • School Library Journal: “This novel built of stories yields nightmares…This writerly, chiaroscuro book is replete with the portent of violence, and thick with ideas about the psychological need for stories, all while questioning the ability of stories to redeem the tellers. Readers will find themselves confronted with deep, unanswered questions regarding the relationship of collective imaginary worlds to reality, the evolving nature of memories and friendships, and the unknowability of people. Those ready to explore darker realities will devour this book.”
  • The Bulletin of the Center For Children’s Books (recommended): “Somewhere between Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Nova Ren Suma’s 17 & Gone in audience and tone, this blend of magical realism and mystery blurs the line between reality and fantasy, setting up a creepy unease that both disturbs and propels the reader forward…the deliciously tangled web of a plot defies categorization.”
  • Publisher’s Weekly (pick of the week): “Starmer explores the relationship between creation and theft, reality and fantasy in this haunting novel…the novel’s strength is in the pervasive aura of unknowing that Starmer creates and sustains.”
  • VOYA Magazine: “The Riverman contains plenty of boisterous action—mischief nights with “eggings”—and dialogue peppered with enough “greasy farts” talk to entertain middle schoolers. Alistair, Fiona, and Charlie are memorable characters. The amazing Fiona-controlled Aquavania where chocolate-chip-mint ice cream covers the ground will also delight fantasy readers. But this story also incorporates deeper story threads ripe for exploration…There is a lot to ponder and recommend in this unusual tale.”

BLOG REVIEWS

  • Betsy Bird’s Fuse #8 Blog (at School Library Journal): “As far as I’m concerned, this is one of the best of 2014…Once everyone’s read it, I’m going to have SO much more to say. A good book does that. It gives your tongue wings. The Riverman may creep you out and make you want to hide under the covers for a good long while, but just TRY to set it down. Can’t be done. And that is what I look for in a book.”
  • The Off-Topic Blog of Kurtis Scaletta: “Like When You Reach Me and BreadcrumbsThe Riverman is about real people with real problems who find a twist in their reality. And like those books, I would find it deeply engaging even without the fantastic angle. It is the nuanced, believable children dealing with mundane crises that make it a great book.”
  • Smell of Wine and Cheap Perfume: “I not only burned through this one, but wanted to start reading again immediately as soon as I was finished.”
  • Great Imaginations: “The Riverman is at once an entertaining fantasy, a coming of age tale, and scary glimpse of what can happen when one is stuck in one’s own head for too long.  With dark, dry humor, and a smart protagonist, The Riverman is a book that will be stuck in my head for a long time to come.”
  • A Reader of Fictions: “Do you have a vast imagination and love to think about the worlds it could create? Do you like middle grade novels that will creep you out and make you think? If yes, then you need The Riverman in your life, I promise.”
  • Reed Reads Book Reviews: “The story unfolds slowly and beautifully, the reader never sure of where it is going. When I reviewed Aaron Starmer’s The Only Ones, I said it was “weird, in the most literary way.” After reading his second book, I can say that Aaron is one of the most creative children’s writers out there. There is nothing formula about either books.”
  • Hidden in Pages: “This is an incredibly engaging read and very hard to put down…This is a truly unique book and I really enjoyed it.”
  • Bibliomantics: “Sure on the outside the novel seems like a book about a boogie man that children need to fear, but it goes so much deeper than that, exploring the flawed nature of memories…and even more so about how the unbelievable stories people tell themselves in their own imaginations are merely coping mechanisms to deal with the world at large.”
  • Three Storey Books:  “Aaron Starmer brings us on a dark, atmospheric fantasy adventure that deals with friendship, belief, love and all of the challenges these bring to a 12 year old boy. Not your typical coming of age story, The Riverman is infused with a sense of foreboding and more questions than answers as Starmer’s exceedingly well crafted characters lead us on Alistair’s well meaning, insightful journey into what could be either a menacing alternate reality or the mind of girl trying to make sense of fear and abuse.”
  • Cougars Book Blog: “The Riverman is odd and intriguing, suspenseful and absorbing. Middle school readers, as well as juvenile and YA fiction readers of any age, will not be able to put this down.”
  • Lust and Coffee: “This book is a page turner. Every chapter is so tense that I really wanted to finish it in one night, but my eyes wouldn’t compromise.”

SELECTIONS